Useful tech for Monitoring & Evaluation


When we wrote Evaluating Digital Citizen Engagement: A Practical Guide for the World Bank, one of the topics we touched upon was what tech is out there to support an evaluation – data collection, analysis etc.  We included an appendix listing most of the tools we knew of at the time (this list was never meant to be exhaustive!).

I thought it also useful to have this list as a living document online rather than just hidden in a DCE guide, so it is replicated here.  Obviously this list will go out of date with new tools appearing and old ones going out of use, so I intend to maintain and prune this list over time.

Please email me with any additions or amendments!

Survey, data collection and visualization/mapping tools
Akvo Flow www.akvo.org/products/akvoflow
Asterisk www.asterisk.org
CSPro / CSEntry www.census.gov/population/international/software/cspro/
CommCare www.commcarehq.org
CommConnect www.dimagi.com/commconnect
Crowdmap crowdmap.com
Ctalk www.ctalk.co.uk
EchoMobile www.echomobile.org
Elva www.elva.org
EpiCollect www.epicollect.net
Epi Info www.cdc.gov/epiinfo/index.html
Fieldata www.fieldata.org
First Mile Geo www.firstmilegeo.com
FluidSurveys fluidsurveys.com
FormSite www.formsite.com
FreedomFone www.freedomfone.org
FrontlineSMS/Cloud www.frontlinesms.com
Google Forms www.google.co.uk/forms/about
Groundsource www.groundsource.co
iFormBuilder www.iformbuilder.com
KeySurvey www.keysurvey.co.uk
Kobo Toolbox www.kobotoolbox.org
LimeSurvey www.limesurvey.org
Magpi home.magpi.com
Mxit www.mxit.im
Nokia Data Gathering nokiadatagathering.net
Open Data Kit opendatakit.org
Open Street Map www.openstreetmap.org
OpenXData www.openxdata.org
Pendragon Forms www.pendragonsoftware.com
PoiMapper www.poimapper.com
PollDaddy polldaddy.com
Qualtrics www.qualtrics.com
Quantum GIS www.qgis.org
QuestionPro www.questionpro.com
RapidSMS www.rapidsms.org
Resource Map instedd.org/technologies/resource-map
Riwi www.riwi.com
Smap smap.com.au
SnapSurveys www.snapsurveys.com
StatPac www.statpac.com
Survey Monkey www.surveymonkey.com
SurveyGizmo www.surveygizmo.com
SurveyGold www.surveygoldsolutions.com
SurveyPro www.apian.com
TaroWorkz taroworks.org
Telerivet telerivet.com
Text to Change ttcmobile.com
Textlt textit.in
Twilio www.twilio.com
Ushahidi www.ushahidi.com
ViewWorld www.viewworld.net
Voicent IVR Studio www.voicent.com/ivr.php
VOTO Mobile www.votomobile.org
Vumi vumi.org
Zoomerang www.zoomerang.com
Tools for Quantitative Analysis
AMOS www-03.ibm.com/software/products/en/spss-amos
ArcGIS http://www.esri.com/software/arcgis
Calc (Libre office) www.libreoffice.org/discover/calc
Echo mobile www.echomobile.org/public/main
EpiData www.epidata.dk
EQS http://www.mvsoft.com/eqs60.htm
Gnumeric www.gnumeric.org
Google Charts developers.google.com/chart
Google Drive sheets www.google.co.uk/sheets/about
Google forms www.google.co.uk/forms/about
HLM http://www.ssicentral.com/hlm/
IBM – Many eyes www-969.ibm.com/software/analytics/manyeyes
i-Work/Numbers www.apple.com/uk/mac/numbers
Minitab www.minitab.com/en-us
MLwiN http://www.bristol.ac.uk/cmm/software/mlwin/
MPLUS http://www.statmodel.com
NetMiner ww.netminer.com
Pandas (Python) pandas.pydata.org
QGIS http://www.qgis.org
Qualtrics www.qualtrics.com
R www.r-project.org
RapidMiner https://rapidminer.com
SAS www.sas.com/en_us/software/sas9.html
SPSS www-01.ibm.com/software/uk/analytics/spss
STATA www.stata.com
Statsmodels (Python) statsmodels.sourceforge.net
Survey Monkey www.surveymonkey.com
Tableau www.tableau.com
UNICET https://sites.google.com/site/ucinetsoftware/home
Vizualize Free visualizefree.com
Tools for qualitative analysis and textual data mining
Alceste www.image-zafar.com/en/alceste-software
Atlas.ti atlasti.com
DataWatch www.datawatch.com
Dedoose www.dedoose.com
Discover Text discovertext.com
Ethnogragh http://www.qualisresearch.com
ExactTarget http://www.exacttarget.com/uk
ForSight platform http://www.crimsonhexagon.com/social-media-intelligence/forsight-platform
Fs/QCA http://www.u.arizona.edu/~cragin/fsQCA/software.shtml
GATE gate.ac.uk/sentiment
HyperResearch www.researchware.com/products/hyperresearch.html
InfoRapid www.inforapid.de/html/searchreplace.htm
LingPipe alias-i.com/lingpipe/demos/tutorial/sentiment/read-me.html
MAXQDA www.maxqda.com
Mozdeh http://mozdeh.wlv.ac.uk
NodeXL http://nodexl.codeplex.com
NLP Stanford demos nlp.stanford.edu:8080/sentiment/rntnDemo.html
NVivo www.qsrinternational.com/products_nvivo.aspx
Overview www.overviewproject.org
QDA Miner provalisresearch.com/products/qualitative-data-analysis-software
QSR N6 www.qsrinternational.com/products_previous-products_n6.aspx
Qualrus www.ideaworks.com/qualrus
R DataMiner http://www.rdatamining.com
Rapid Miner rapidminer.com
SAS Text Miner http://www.sas.com/en_us/software/analytics/text-miner.html
Studiocode www.studiocodegroup.com
Tams Analyzer tamsys.sourceforge.net
TranSana www.transana.org
Tosmana http://www.compasss.org/software.htm#tosmana
Voyant Tools http://docs.voyant-tools.org
Weft QDA www.pressure.to/qda
M&E reporting, suites or toolkits (i.e. tools that offer a range of M&E functionality)
ActivityInfo www.activityinfo.org
AidBits www.aidbits.com
Akvo Really Simple Reporting akvo.org/products/rsr
Anaplan www.anaplan.com
Apricot www.socialsolutions.com/apricot/?redirect=true
Development Gateway www.developmentgateway.org/expertise/technology/
DevResults devresults.com/en/p/home
DHIS2 www.dhis2.org
Evide evide.org.uk
First Mile Geo www.firstmilegeo.com
Horizon www.wvpmis.org/Default.aspx
iFormBuilder www.iformbuilder.com
Synergy Indicata www.synisys.com/products/indicata-monitoring-and-evaluation-software/
Infor www.infor.com
Kashana kashana.org
Kimetrica http://www.kimetrica.com
Kwantu BetterData kwantu.net/features
Logalto http://www.logalto.com/en
mFieldWork mfieldwork.com
Newdea http://www.newdea.com
Premise www.premise.com
Salesforce http://www.salesforce.org/introducing-ngo-connect
Sigmah www.sigmah.org
TaroWorks www.taroworks.org
Vera Solutions www.verasolutions.org
WebMO http://www.energypedia-consult.com/en/it-solutions/webmo
Workfront http://www.workfront.com

(Thanks to George Flatters for this last table).

Some other resources that may be helpful for those looking for help finding the right tools include: